Skip to content

Chinese domain name “warnings” still making the rounds

China seems to have staked its claim to this particular genre of junk mail (specimen abridged):

Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2007 16:34:06 +0800
From: "Jessie" <Jessie@worldregistry.com.cn>
To: "thor" <thor@anta.net>
Subject: (SPAM) The Notice of the Intellectual Property On the Internet

 Hello!
We are Shanghai ZhengXiao Network Technology Co.,Ltd., which is a professional domain name
registration and service company in China. On 11st.Dec.,our company received Morllex Investment
company's application that they want to register the "antalamp" as their Internet Keyword and CN
domain name and other related domain names, but after checking we found, this name is conflict with
your company's trademark , so we send you email and want to confirm with you . Please ask your
responsible person or IT manager to contact me .
I’m looking forward to hearing from you .
Yours sincerely Jessie
2007-12-11 

Jessie
Jessie   IT Manager
Shanghai ZhengXiao Network Technology Co.,Ltd
Tel:+86(0)21-6451 3605
Fax:+86(0)21-6451 3603
E-mail:Jessie@worldregistry.com.cn
Website:www.worldregistry.cn

Have you noticed how messages opening with “I am” or “We are” almost invariably are junk? This specimen was received from the IP address 218.188.65.53, allocated to “Hutchison Global Communications” in Hong Kong. Lots of similar stunts have been reported elsewhere, for example on Kevin Murphy’s blog, texturbation.

“Jessie” would probably be more than happy to sell me a cn domain name in order to protect my company’s trademark. However, here as elsewhere, a good rule of thumb is the Boulder pledge:

Under no circumstances will I ever purchase anything offered to me as the result of an unsolicited e-mail message. Nor will I forward chain letters, petitions, mass mailings, or virus warnings to large numbers of others. This is my contribution to the survival of the online community.

No, this story doesn’t count as forwarding. :)

If you have received similar junk mail, or otherwise would like to share some information on the problem, please post a comment!

8 Comments

  1. I received one of these emails today, an exact replica of the one above. They are still doing the rounds. Beware !!!

    Posted on 17-Dec-07 at 22:07:00 | Permalink
  2. Received an email from ‘eva@worldregistry.com.cn’ stating that
    PuKai Consultants Limited wanted to register my ‘company’s domain name and the Internet Brand’.

    Posted on 16-Jan-08 at 10:57:11 | Permalink
  3. larry Paulsen wrote:

    Received an excact duplicate today.

    Posted on 18-Jan-08 at 18:35:08 | Permalink
  4. Tim Hoppkins wrote:

    I know, that this swindlers!

    Posted on 25-Jan-08 at 11:43:20 | Permalink
  5. To me it is necessary to find

    Posted on 24-Feb-08 at 20:16:42 | Permalink
  6. mania wrote:

    hi.your site is very good thank you ,i read all article

    Posted on 21-Mar-08 at 09:19:58 | Permalink
  7. Alex wrote:

    Dear Manager:

    We are the Shanghai ShiShun Information Technology Co.,Ltd, which is a professional Internet Domain Names Registry and Internet Service Provider in China.

    On,23rd, Apr, our company receive the HOUSHIN Investment company’s application that they want to apply for “autosimsport” name as cn/asia domain names and Internet Brand names. But after our confirmation, we found this name will conflict with your company’s name, so we send you email and want to confirm with you, whether your company has relation with the case ? Now this matter we just in the middle of handling, so we need to get your company’s opinion within the following 5 days.

    If you have any question, please let your company’s charger contact us directly & quickly. Thank you!

    Best regards,

    Joy Li

    Oversea marketing manager

    Shanghai ShiShun Information Technology Co.,Ltd

    Tel:+86(0)21 6451 3605

    Fax:+86(0)21 6451 3603

    Email:joy@registryid.cn

    WebSite:www.registryid.cn

    Posted on 24-Apr-08 at 13:08:10 | Permalink
  8. Peter wrote:

    Joy Li & Houshin are still busy!! We rec’d the same message as Alex, relating to our own domain name.

    Posted on 06-May-08 at 11:34:22 | Permalink

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *
*
*